Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Book Review - Ravenstone

RavenstoneBy Deborah CannonISBN:1425146023
Archaeologist Jake Lalonde searches for the origins of the icon of the mythical raven, as depicted in an ancient carving off the coast of British Columbia. Haunting his dreams, his search finds him is so far from what is expected that it leaves him breathless and nearly distracted enough to forget a deadly threat to his and Angeline's lives. Deborah Cannon brings legends into a new light in "Ravenstone," the third in a series but also a stand alone novel.
Menacing messages appear on Angeline's phone and the threat is all too real though some suspect she is imagining it. A past nemesis has returned to Angeline and Jake's world. Once safely (not really) locked away, insanely rich Radisson again haunts their minds and hunts control over their souls. When Jake's daughter's presence is revealed and then threatened, action must be taken. But Angeline is already on her way to Lyell Island, and Jake is unsure of where they stand as a couple.
Danger is hidden along with the elusive answers to Jake's questions. What seems innocent flirtation at first leads to deadly dancing with a past he had forgotten and a present situation he hadn't been very aware of.
The writing is engaging and immerses the reader into the contrasting but beautiful locales of the coast of British Columbia and the coast of Lyell Island, a Polynesian paradise.
Digging into the habits and mindsets of archaeologists is interesting to witness, while the troublesome romance adds a delightful human interest quality to the tale. Danger, love, life, the past of characters and the subjects they study, and the possible futures of all involved wrap up into a well rounded story. Add the mystical quality of legends and you've got a memorable book. Not surprising coming from Deborah Cannon.
Heather Froeschl is an author, award winning editor, and book reviewer, at

No comments:

Blog Archive

Favorite Reads

  • Cross Bones by Kathy Reichs
  • In The Circle Trilogy by Nora Roberts
  • Womens Murder Club Series by James Patterson
  • Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  • Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  • The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher
  • Blood Brothers by Nora Roberts