Saturday, March 8, 2008

The Criminal In The Caymans

The Criminal in the Caymans is the first book in the Incredible Journey Books series. This series, written by Connie Lee Berry, centers around two young brothers who stumble onto something that doesn't seem right and end up solving mysteries.
The Criminal in the Caymans begins with Mr. Stone previously telling Mrs. Stone that his work was taking him to the Caymans and he wanted to bring her and their sons along. Mrs. Stone made a game of the adventure by prompting her two sons with clues to see if they could guess where they were going. The airport terminal and flight was written in a realistic way and soon they boys arrived in the Caymans. Sure enough, they find something that doesn't look right - a man who turns out to be a wanted criminal.
Parents will enjoy the artfully disguised science lessons, maps and geography lessons that are entwined throughout the story. Readers are also exposed to poetry and encouraged to enter their poetry for prizes. Fans will be thrilled to know that this series continues with book three, Adventure in Africa, and book four, Pirates in Paradise.
This is a friendly book that will not intimidate readers who shy away from higher page counts. The author's children pose for some of the illustrations that look like they might have gone through a photo enhancing computer program, such as PhotoShop.
Unfortunately I could find no information in the book or on the publisher's site regarding environmentally sound printing options that were chosen, such as using chlorine or acid free paper. Because the environment is a strong passion of mine, I feel I have to dock the book by 1/2 a star. I would recommend it to readers aged 7-10.
Rating 4 out of 5 stars.
~ Lillian Brummet: co-author of the books Trash Talk and Purple Snowflake Marketing, author of Towards Understanding; host of the Conscious Discussions radio show (

No comments:

Blog Archive

Favorite Reads

  • Cross Bones by Kathy Reichs
  • In The Circle Trilogy by Nora Roberts
  • Womens Murder Club Series by James Patterson
  • Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  • Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  • The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher
  • Blood Brothers by Nora Roberts